2017 EGU Mens D2 Playoffs

There are three (3) conferences in D2: New Jersey (NJ), New York City (NYC), and Upstate.  After league play, eight (8) teams will advance to the Empire GU playoffs. The winner of each conference will be seeded #1, #2 and #3. Seeding will be based on normalized competition points (match points + bonus points)/ matches played (see below). The remaining five (5) playoff teams (wild cards) will come from the second-place team in the Upstate Conference, and the second- and third-place teams from the NJ and NYC Conferences. These teams will be seeded #s 4 thru 8.  

Competition points are determined as follows.
Match Points
* 4 match points for a win
* 2 match points for a tie
* 0 match points for a loss

Bonus Points
* 1 bonus point for scoring 4 tries or more in a match
* 1 bonus point for losing by 7 points or less in a match

Note: Forfeits are recorded to the team not responsible for the forfeit as a 20-0 win with a bonus point (5 competition points total).  Forfeiting Team shall receive up to negative five (-5) points.

Playoff Schedule

08APR2017: Quarterfinals (higher seed is home team throughout)

QF#1: #8 @ #1
QF#2: #7 @ #2
QF#3: #6 @ #3 
QF#4: #5 @ #4

22APR2017: Semifinals
SF #1: Winner of QF#4 @ Winner QF#1
SF #2: Winner of QF#3 @ Winner QF#2 

29APR2017: EGU Final
Winner SF#1 v Winner SF#2 (home team is higher seed)

06MAY2017: Crossover vs NERFU