EGU Crowns 7s Series Champions, Names All-EGU Teams

  • Jul 31,2016

At the capstone tournament for the 2016 Empire GU Summer 7s Series, EGU crowned four Summer 7s Champions and named the first-ever All-EGU 7s Team. The Blazing 7s Tournament on July 23 was the scene for a great day of rugby.


In High School Girls, Morris claimed the title over Play Rugby. In High School Boys, PlayRugby ran past Ridge. Monmouth dominated the Women's Series all summer and claimed the championship over Morris. On the Men's side, Morris claimed the title with a fantastic, sudden-death finish over East Lake Erie Hawaiians.

The Old Blue Men and Old Blue Women each captured their respective Northeast7s   Championships and advance to the Colorado for the National Championship.

For the first time ever, Empire GU named an All-EGU Team for each of the Summer 7s Series divisions. In addition to being named All-EGU, each athlete earns the right to train with the Northeast Academy.

2016 EGU Summer 7s Series Champions
HS Girls: Morris
HS Boys: Play Rugby
Women: Monmouth
Men: Morris

2016 All-EGU 7s Teams
HS Girls
HS Boys

HS Girls
Alie Ramage (Morris)
Allie Mennella (Morris)
Brianna Whitfield (Morris)
Delia Hellander (Morris)
Emily McHugh (Morris)
Jessica Nagie (Morris)
Jordan Cowan (Morris)
Mahida Parker (NYRC)
Malery Billingly (Play Rugby)
Mia Lancellotti (Union)
Susan Adegoke (Play Rugby)
Tyffany Brisbane (Morris)

HS Boys
Bryce Stanback (Greenwich)
Charlie White (City Athlete)
Connnor Buckley (City Athlete)
Eoin Sansevero (City Athlete)
Jack Debulis (Union)
Jack Depoortere (Ridge)
Kamari Charles (Play Rugby)
Luke Bienstock (Greenwich)
Noah Geltman (Play Rugby)
Parker Kelly (Grewnwich)
Royal Jones (Union)
Ryan Herculies (Play Rugby)

Nicole Carroll (Monmouth)
Kat Hussey (Monmouth)
Leah Berry (Monmouth)
Taylor Gregson (Morris)
Elisa Cuellar (Morris)
Allison Mazur (Morris)
Brenda Doctor (Brooklyn)
Kyla Maxwell (Brooklyn)
Angelina Tornetto (Union)
Tor Breza (Union)
Sheila Ahmady (Princeton)
Stephanie Almafe (Princeton)

Andrew Poulson (Monmouth)
Blaze Feury (Morris)
Brian Patterson (Monmouth)
Chris Sedlak (Princeton)
Craig Mackenzie (Brooklyn)
Kevin Keebler (Brooklyn)
Mark Boswell (Buffalo)
Mike Lang (Buffalo)
PJ Delacruz (Princeton)
Steven Saba (Morris)
Tyler Norris (Buffalo)
Walter Schmitzer (Morris)